Peach Belt Announces Baseball All-Conference Team

Peach Belt Announces Baseball All-Conference Team

GREENWOOD, SC – The Peach Belt Conference has announced the 2013 baseball All-Conference team at a banquet in Greenwood, S.C., on the eve of the PBC Tournament.  Columbus State's Cameron Scott was named the league's Player of the Year while UNC Pembroke's Ethan Carter was the Pitcher of the Year.  USC Aiken's Sean Miller was named the Freshman of the Year while his head coach, Kenny Thomas, was named the Coach of the Year.

Scott leads the nation in RBIs with 74 this year.  He is also ranked in the top 20 nationally and leads the PBC with a .418 batting average, the highest average for a league leader in three years.  His 81 hits is second-most in the nation while his 20 doubles is seventh in all of Division II. He is also ranked among the PBC top 10 in total bases, slugging percentage, on-base percentage and sacrifice flies.  He had 23 games with two or more hits, including six with four or more hits.  He becomes the sixth Cougar to be named the PBC Player of the Year, the first since Jason Rogers won the award in 2010.

Ethan Carter is ranked eighth in the nation in ERA and ninth in wins this season.   A senior from Newport News, Va., he was 9-1 for the Braves with a 1.36 ERA.  He had three complete games with two shutouts in his 10 starts and was named a PBC Pitcher of the Week three times.  He struck out 69 batters in his 73 innings of work with only 11 walks issued on the year while holding batters to a .203 average.  His 1.36 ERA is on pace to be the seventh-lowest in a single season in PBC history.  Carter becomes the second UNC Pembroke Pitcher of the Year, joining Matt McGovern who won in 2009.

Sean Miller started in all 50 games for the #1-ranked Pacers this season at shortstop.  From Crofton, Md.,  he hit .290 with 35 RBIs and 25 runs scored, collecting nine doubles, two triples and a home run.  Named the PBC Freshman of the Week on March 5, Miller was fifth in the PBC in assists and fourth with 32 double plays turned.  He also stole six bases and had a 15-game hitting streak during the year.  Miller becomes the second straight Pacer, a third overall, to be named the PBC Freshman of the Year.  Will Tankersley won the award in 2012.

Kenny Thomas has taken the USC Aiken Pacer to new heights in 2013 as the team is currently ranked #1 in the nation for the second straight week.  It is the first top ranking for USCA since 1993 and the first for him in his 14th season.  The Pacers won their second PBC regular-season Championship in five years under Thomas' guidance, finishing 24-6 in conference play, the highest winning percentage for a PBC team in league play since 2006.  The Pacers currently lead the conference in batting average and ERA and could become the first team to do that since 2008.  The Coach of the Year honor is the second for Thomas, who also won it in 2009.

The 2013 baseball All-Conference team is listed below, as selected by the league's head coaches.  Coaches were not permitted to rank their own players.  The size of the team was increased by three to 35 total players with ties at shortstop and outfield.

2013 Peach Belt Conference
Baseball All-Conference Team

First Team
1b - Ty Barkell, USC Aiken
2b - Ryan Metzler, USC Aiken
3b - Jack Morrow, Young Harris
3b - Jordan Edgerton, UNC Pembroke
SS - Daniel Bick, Georgia College
C - Clayton Miller, Armstrong
DH - Bill Gerstenslager, USC Aiken 
UT - Cameron Scott, Columbus State
OF - Ryan Lewis, Columbus State
OF - Patrick Grady, Lander
OF - Zach Bricknell, Young Harris
OF - Bryce Baur, USC Aiken
OF - J.D. Pullen, Columbus State
SP - Ethan Carter, UNC Pembroke
SP - Dylan Wolchick, Lander
SP - Derek Beasley, USC Aiken
SP - Ethan Bader, Armstrong
RP - Taylor Grover, USC Aiken

Second Team
1b - Clay Ardeeser, Georgia College
2b - Graham Ramos, Lander
SS - Zade Denton, UNC Pembroke
SS - Joe Post, Flagler
SS - Erik Lunde, Lander
C - Jeff May, Lander
DH - Vinny Rodriguez, Montevallo
UT - Josh Miller, USC Aiken
OF - Weston Lawing, Lander
OF - Jay Laurienzo, Flagler
OF - Zack Willoughby, Montevallo
OF- Jake Sandlin, Georgia College
SP - Dale Innes, UNC Pembroke
SP - Jake Brandenberger, Flagler
SP - Chess Malone, Lander
SP - Ryan Milewski, USC Aiken
RP - Hart Mizell, Columbus State

Player of the Year 
Cameron Scott, Columbus State 

Pitcher of the Year
Ethan Carter, UNC Pembroke

Freshman of the Year
Sean Miller, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year
Kenny Thomas, USC Aiken